I Need Some Help Next Week

Hey, next week is the most active week of the month in terms of the user group community in Cincinnati. One of the purposes of this space is to highlight the generally high-quality of the content and information transfer at the different user groups in order to drive attendance. I would estimate 98% of the Cincinnati developer/BA/PM community does not take advantage of some of these excellent, reliable, and low/no cost resources.

I’ll be attending the .NET User Group on Tuesday, PMI on Wednesday, and The Women’s Circuit networking event on Thursday. That leaves no coverage for the IIBA on Tuesday and the Programmer’s Guild on Wednesday. If someone would be willing to cover these events with a high-quality, detailed post, I would welcome you as a guest blogger here. Please review the detail of my previous posts and the way I highlight the presenter, the content, and the attendees that I meet and have conversations with. If you want to give it a shot, get in contact with me at aerickson@lucruminc.com or (513) 225-1052 and let me know. I reserve the right to say, “thank you, but it’s not good enough.”

This one is a struggle for me as both the IIBA and the Programmer’s Guild will cover some really meaty topics.

The Programmer’s Guild will feature Dr. Kipp Martin, Vice President and CIO of Global Optima. Dr. Martin will cover COIN-OR, the Computational Infrastructure for Operations Research. The COIN-OR project is an initiative to spur the development of open-source software for the operations research community. The goal of COIN-OR is to speed development and deployment of models, algorithms, and cutting-edge computational research, as well as provide a forum for peer review of software similar to that provided by archival journals for theoretical research.

Dr. Martin is also a Professor of Operations Research and Computing Technology at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business. He has been teaching Internet business to MBA students since 1994 and has taught executives in Europe and the U.S. He has written Large Scale Linear and Integer Optimization: A Unified Approach (Kluwer, 1999). He holds a BA, MBA, and Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati.

IIBA will feature Leanne Medlock, principal consultant at Watershed Solutions, LLC presenting on ITIL/ITSM for the Business Analyst.

As a side note, Kishore Subramanyam asked about interest in a BPM group in Cincinnati. If you are interested in this topic, please contact Kishore. Also, the following week, I’m looking for someone to cover OWASP as I’ll be at the SQL Server User Group. I’m not at all covering the Java User Group or Linux User Group at this point. Let me know if you’d like to cover any of these.

Andy

~ by Andy on February 15, 2008.

2 Responses to “I Need Some Help Next Week”

  1. Yo Andy!!
    Guess I’ll see you at the .NET group. Taking a n00b to it so she can start picking up some of this cool stuff going on.

  2. I will be going to the IIBA use group. I normallu go anyway, so it wil be nice to see some familiar faces.
    – PS

Leave a Reply

 
