Kroger And Some Defective Yogurt

When Kroger released its loyalty program a number of years ago, I signed up with a fake name and personal information. I liked the idea of saving money but didn’t want to allow big brother access to some of my personal habits. And, no, I wasn’t hanging out by the pharmacy counter on a regular basis.

Well, some time later, at my wife’s urging as we attempted to “reign in grocery costs,” I gave ’em my real name and address so that we would get all the coupons and other goodies in the mail. It’s really the perception of saving money that drives the behavior as I’m sure most grocers probably charge similar prices overall. Mmmmmmmmmm, except for, ugh, dare I say, WalMart when they carried Dove Ultimate Chocolate ice cream for $2.78, a full dollar less than all the other grocery chains. They don’t carry it anymore. I’m heart broken.

So I’m eating breakfast today with Tom Kent at the Kenwood First Watch when Tom tells me about the Kroger recall on some yogurt. In this case I’m SO freakin’ impressed at how the Kroger business leveraged IT to reach out and touch their customers on a personal level to ensure they’re continued safety and awareness. Apparently Kroger, able to trace every purchase of the recalled Stonybrook yogurt to anyone that provided a loyalty card, called each and every customer to let them know about the recall. Then, Tom said when he purchased something else at Kroger that the recall message appeared to him again at the bottom of his receipt.

WAY TO GO KROGER!!! Way to go Kroger IT being levered appropriately to the business. I’ve been in IT for 15 years, and this is the first time I could say that it really made a difference in my life. What a great example of business leveraging IT in a way that will touch each one of us for the better. I’m glad you’re in Cincinnati!

Andy

~ by Andy on April 18, 2008.

2 Responses to “Kroger And Some Defective Yogurt”

  1. Andy,

    Great post. This truly illustrates the value of IT and where it intersects with Marketing. Moving forward this helps to build trust as companies can use this information on behalf of the best interest of the consumer. It is impressive that they possess the capability, and more impressive that they take the time an energy to execute on it. They very easily could have spend the money on more TV ads or billboards, but chose a very personal and relevant approach. Kudos to Kroger.

  2. […] I’d shop there to keep as much of the tax revenue as local as I could. And recently, you wow’d me with your handling of the yogurt […]

Leave a Reply

 
