Uh…Boss? I Need More Money

Holy freakin’ cow.  I just passed $4.15 gas at the Princeton and 747 UDF.  Geez, glad I filled up yesterday.  I just can’t catch a break.  Seems the last two years we burned through the max on our flexible medical spending accounts by, say, MARCH. WTF?  Last year my daughter Meredith broke her femur, yeah femur, while sledding.  Oh, let me rephrase that. Meredith was walking up the hill. We had just got there.  Not even down the hill ONCE.  And this grown adult RAN INTO HER.  Stopped for a second.  Grabbed the boot that flew off her foot and gave it back to her.  And then flew down the hill.  I didn’t see it because I was with my 5-year old getting ready to go down our first time.  I heard some yelling, turned around, and saw two adults with my daughter keeping her immobile.  When I got to her I thought to myself, “legs aren’t supposed to do THAT.” Surgery, $4,000 out of pocket later, and its only February.  How do I get through the rest of the year.

Fast-forward to this year.  No hospital bills…yet.  My now 7-year old daughter, Drew, is eating, living, and breathing a new puppy.  Cesar Millan dvr’d, oh, idunno, 5 times a day.  How does someone at Petsmart look at me with a straight face and say this dog, all inclusive, “is only $1,200.  But today we’re running a special for $999.”  So I need to put in a fence.  If you knew me a couple years ago you know what happened to our last dog and the electric fence.  Believe me, you know why I need a real fence.  I’m pricing material and labor thinking it will run me about $1,800.  Line up a guy to put it in.

Then the Suburban needs work.  Hmmm…the driver’s side door is going to, um, FALL OFF.  $350 off the cuff estimate.  Real cost $545. “Oh, and your catalytic converter is bad.”  $950.  And while we’re replacing that, the oxygen sensors are bad.  $350.  Distributor $720.  And a few more things.  We went in thinking $350.  We got out at $2,400.  Gotta get the fence done or I will break my daughter’s heart.  New REAL estimate?  $2,700.  Empty the little savings I have and Git ‘er Done.  Perhaps I can fit $200 in here somewhere to transfer my domain and land a nice template for a better blog.  Huh, honey, huh?  Please? She gets the Suburban, and I drive an 11-year old Sentra with 210,000 miles.  I bought it promising myself it’ll go 300,000.  Be careful what you wish for. If you’ve ever seen my car – BE CAREFUL.

Then I read in the Journal, Vanishing Act: The Law of Household Economics.  And I realize, “Thank God I’m not in this alone.”  The sub-heading?  For Every Financial Windfall, An Equal, Unexpected Cost; Tax Rebate = Appliance Repair.  Apparently the correlary goes like this: For every financial windfall that comes into your home, there will be an equal, unexpected household cost.  Oh, thanks for the heads-up.  Really.

Back to the $4.15 gas.  I have a plan.  I’m going to stick to to the man.  On a percentage basis, premium gas is quite a bit cheaper than it was even six months ago.  it’s still only a dime more than regular, and that’s a deal now.  So I’m going to feed my Sentra premium gas and see if the whole thing spontaneously combusts.

So am I alone?  Where did your tax rebate go?

Andy

~ by Andy on June 28, 2008.

7 Responses to “Uh…Boss? I Need More Money”

  1. My stimulus payment was very useful in paying (part of) my quarterly estimated taxes. Would have been quicker if they just kept it themselves.

  2. Stimulus check !!?? I’m at the end of the list thatks to 89 in my SSN. Might be useful for the $5 + gas when it actually arrives.

    As a guy who drives 70+ miles a day and has a car that requires Premium fuel (didn’t matter in 2002) I’d much rather be paying .20 cents less a gallon and using the 87 Octane.

    Do watch out for Andy’s car. It is a beast. Isn’t it your day to run into the wall on 75 yet?

  3. Good web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  4. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention
    that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  5. That is really interesting, You are an excessively professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for seeking more of your wonderful post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  6. Of course, these are broad sites that allow you to write on
    any topic, so if you. There are sites on the internet that
    cater to freelance writers that connect freelancers and the clients that want to hire
    them. Have some idea of what you’re going to say, for example, could they use help from an expert local writer.

  7. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote
    the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead
    of that, this is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

 
